Some Early Spring Cleaning

Hello lovelies.

I have returned again, pretending that spring is right around the corner because of this unseasonably warm weather. (Of course.) I’m definitely not mad about it being 80 degrees on this first week of February, but my poor heart is already mourning the cool weather that I know is bound to return again, probably sooner rather than later.

Some of my favorite things about these random spurts of warmth (besides the extra serotonin and general comfort) are the waves of inspiration, productivity and positivity that float in with the sunshine. I wake up earlier, happier, and with an extra pep in my step. As a college senior taking 19 hours this semester, I can use every bit of pep that I can muster at the moment, especially in the morning.

Even though I am over the hump of my infamous seasonal depression, it’s the days like today that remind me of how much happier I am with a bit of extra sunshine and weather over 60 degrees. I walk around with a stupid grin on my face, and I am honestly certain that I am singing under my breath 95% of the time. (As of lately one of these two songs- Tomorrow x The Shakey Graves // Old Friends x Pinegrove)

Let me clarify really quick-I’m not being melodramatic and saying I’m never happy. I am extremely happy. I have five thousand reasons to be happy every day. Reasons. But once that sun peeks out, and that temperature starts rising, it’s like my subconscious chimes in and says “All clear to be entirely happy for absolutely no reason!”

I don’t know if it’s like this for anyone else, but when I’m happy and feeling extra awesome, I just want to give myself some self loving and get stuff done. A fabulous combination-and it helps that getting my ish done makes me feel good. I will always stand by the stance that productivity is a form of self love.

So that’s what I did today.

I had some errands to run downtown, so I marched my jacket free self downtown, got an absolutely stellar paleo iced latte (coconut oil goodness with iced coffee that I promise you need in your life) from The Artistic Bean, and headed to do some downtown boutique shopping for some fun surprises going on later this week. I even had time to drop by my father’s work and present him with some mid-day coffee and sweet potato chips (because who doesn’t love surprise snacks?) and pop into Savers on my way back to school and pick up some steals on a few pieces of artwork that I now have big DIY plans for in the near future.

Things as simple as a latte, a 15 minute walk around downtown, or trying on some pretty spring clothes are enough to clean the mind and keep the spirits lifted. Never underestimate the power of setting aside some time for yourself- even if it’s  just to read a few chapters of a book, or to make yourself a cup of tea. It doesn’t have to be fancy, it just has to be for you.

We are so close to spring, I can feel it in my bones. That being said, I believe that it is the perfect time for some early spring cleaning. Mentally. Physically. Emotionally. All of it. Nothing is safe from a solid spring cleanse. That being said, I see a lot more paleo lattes, checked off to-do lists, and downtown walks in my future. Care to join me?

xx, Aubrey

Leave a Reply

