Finding Happiness.

“Do More of What Makes You Happy”

I feel like I see this simple phrase written out about fifty times a day. It only took me a few thousand times seeing it sprawled across trendy graphic tees, etched across Pinterest-esque coffee mugs, or hanging from colorful car air fresheners (guilty- I actually own one of these- $8 and only kept the scent for an afternoon) for it to finally click.

I can’t tell you when exactly this ever present idea of “doing more that makes ME happy” finally sunk in, but I can give you a good estimate. February 12th, 2016. 10:15 am. Give or take. (I should have been in my History and Development of the English Language class, but I wasn’t). Coincidentally enough this was the exact moment I got a confirmation email for my Ticketfly order to see my all time  favorite band, The Lumineers, at The Bomb Factory in Dallas on May 22nd (one day before my twenty-first birthday). Looking at this email, scanning all the numbers and absorbing all the small details, I realized that I was making a choice to do something that made me happy. Plain and simple. Let me just say, it hasn’t stopped there.

In the days between February 12th and today, May 20th, I have continued to do more of “what makes me happy.” I’ve bought more concert tickets (18 hour road trip to Dover, DE anyone?), made my cat-eye a little bigger, let my hair be a little messier, adopted the most perfect kitten alive, and the list could certainly go on.

So this is where I am in life: 72 hours away from being twenty-one, a senior in college, a cat mom, doing more of what makes me happy. Sitting with my computer in my lap, Normandy playing peek-a-boo and pouncing at my hand as I type this first post out on the blog that I plan to record my oh-so-lovely life’s highlights in. I want to share my happiness and adventures with you all, maybe encouraging some of you to do a little more of what makes you happy. I’ll be honest and admit that this blog is partially for myself too. Having a space to record the little things that bring me joy is personally a great reminder that life is pretty amazing, even when it seems like it isn’t.

Without rambling on any further, I would love to invite you to join me on this “Journey to Happiness” of sorts that simply involves making an effort everyday to do at least one thing that makes you happy. Life is too short to forget to love yourself.

This feels like the beginning of an adventure, doesn’t it?

Aubrey

Follow me around between posts! Twitter/Instagram: AubreySneed

Leave a Reply

